

Council

Monday 29 June 2020

Subject: Appointment of Committees

Report by: Monitoring Officer

Contact Officer: Alan Robinson

Monitoring Officer

Alan.robinson@west-lindsey.gov.uk

01427 676509

Katie Storr

Senior Democratic & Civic Officer katie.storr@west-lindsey.gov.uk

01427 676594

Purpose / Summary: This report sets out the wishes expressed by

political groups in respect of appointment of Members to serve on the Committees of the

Council.

RECOMMENDATION(S):

- (1) That the rules relating to proportionality be suspended in relation to the Overview and Scrutiny Committee;
- (2) In accordance with the provisions of section 16 of the Local Government and Housing Act 1989 and the wishes expressed by political groups, Members be appointed to serve to the Council's Committees for the remainder of the civic year; and
- (3) The current committee Chairmen, and Vice-Chairmen be re-affirmed.

IMPLICATIONS

Risk Assessment: N/A

Legal:
In accordance with the provisions of section 16 of the Local Government and Housing Act 1989 and the wishes expressed by political groups
Financial : FIN/27/21/TJB
None from this report
Stoffing .
Staffing:
None directly arising as a result of this report.
Equality and Diversity including Human Rights :
None.
None.
Data Protection Implications :
Climate Related Risks and Opportunities: N/A
Chinate Related Rieke difd Opportunities 1471
Section 17 Crime and Disorder Considerations:
Health Implications:
Title and Location of any Background Papers used in the preparation of this report :
Notices received from the Group Leaders on the allocation of Committee/ Sub-
Committee places – documents available from the Guildhall, Gainsborough (on request).

Call in and Urgency:

Is the decision one which Rule 14.7 of the So	crutiny Procedure Rules apply?
---	--------------------------------

i.e. is the report exempt from being called in due to urgency (in consultation with C&I chairman)	Yes	No	X	
Key Decision:		J		I
A matter which affects two or more wards, or has significant financial implications	Yes	No	x	

1. Introduction

- 1.1 In accordance with the provision of section 16 of the Local Government and Housing Act 1989, it is the duty of the Council to make appointments to Committees in accordance with the wishes expressed by political groups following the determination under section 15 (the allocation of seats to political groups).
- 1.2 Section 2 details the wishes expressed by the political groups.

2. Appointment of Committees

2.1 Chief Officer Employment Committee (10 Members)

Councillor Jackie Brockway - Chairman

Councillor Mick Devine

Councillor Cherie Hill

Councillor Angela Lawrence

Councillor Giles McNeill - Vice Chairman

Councillor Diana Rodgers

Councillor Lesley Rollings

Councillor Anne Welburn

Councillor Angela White

Councillor Trevor Young

2.2 Corporate Policy and Resources Committee (14 Members)

Councillor Owen Bierley

Councillor Matthew Boles

Councillor Stephen Bunney

Councillor David Cotton

Councillor Mick Devine

Councillor Ian Fleetwood

Councillor Paul Howitt-Cowan

Councillor Giles McNeill - Chairman

Councillor John McNeill

Councillor Mandy Snee

Councillor Jeff Summers

Councillor Robert Waller

Councillor Anne Welburn - Vice Chairman

Councillor Trevor Young

2.3 Governance and Audit Committee (7 Members)

Councillor Jackie Brockway - Vice Chairman

Councillor Stephen Bunney

Councillor Tracey Coulson

Councillor David Dobbie

Councillor Caralyne Grimble

Councillor John McNeill – Chairman Councillor Angela White

2.4 Licensing Committee (11 Members)

Councillor David Cotton

Councillor Liz Clews

Councillor Tim Davies

Councillor Caralyne Grimble

Councillor Paul Howitt-Cowan

Councillor Angela Lawrence - Vice Chairman

Councillor Cordelia McCartney

Councillor Jessie Milne - Chairman

Councillor Judy Rainsforth

Councillor Jim Snee

Councillor Jeff Summers

2.5 Regulatory Committee (11 Members)

Councillor David Cotton

Councillor Liz Clews

Councillor Tim Davies

Councillor Caralyne Grimble

Councillor Paul Howitt-Cowan

Councillor Angela Lawrence - Vice Chairman

Councillor Cordelia McCartney

Councillor Jessie Milne - Chairman

Councillor Judy Rainsforth

Councillor Jim Snee

Councillor Jeff Summers

2.6 Planning Committee (14 Members)

Councillor Owen Bierley

Councillor Matthew Boles

Councillor David Cotton

Councillor Mick Devine

Councillor Jane Ellis

Councillor Ian Fleetwood - Chairman

Councillor Cherie Hill

Councillor Cordelia McCartney

Councillor Jessie Milne

Councillor Keith Panter

Councillor Roger Patterson

Councillor Judy Rainsforth

Councillor Robert Waller - Vice Chairman

Councillor Angela White

2.7 Prosperous Communities Committee (14 Members)

Councillor Owen Bierley - Chairman

Councillor Stephen Bunney

Councillor Tracey Coulson

Councillor Chris Darcel

Councillor Mick Devine

Councillor Paul Howitt-Cowan - Vice Chairman

Councillor John McNeill - Vice Chairman

Councillor Jessie Milne

Councillor Judy Rainsforth

Councillor Tom Regis

Councillor Jim Snee

Councillor Mandy Snee

Councillor Anne Welburn

Councillor Trevor Young

3. Suspension of Political Balance

The Council can, by way of a separate vote, agree to not apply the provisions of the Local Government (Committees and Political Groups) Regulations 1990 to a Committee or Committees. Requests have been received that the Overview and Scrutiny Committee be not politically balanced.

The proposed unbalanced Committee Membership is set out below.

3.1 Overview and Scrutiny Committee (12 members)

Councillor Liz Clews

Councillor Tim Davies

Councillor David Dobbie

Councillor Jane Ellis

Councillor Caralyne Grimble

Councillor Cherie Hill

Councillor Angela Lawrence

Councillor Keith Panter

Councillor Roger Patterson

Councillor Diana Rodgers – Vice Chairman

Councillor Lesley Rollings - Chairman

Councillor Angela White - Vice Chairman

Should this proposal not be unanimously supported the Committee will have to be balanced. The Chairmanships for this committee will also be amended in the event a balanced committee is agreed

The proposed balanced Committee membership is as set out below: -

3.2 Overview and Scrutiny Committee (14 members)

Councillor Jackie Brockway

Councillor Liz Clews

Councillor Tim Davies

Councillor David Dobbie

Councillor Jane Ellis

Councillor Caralyne Grimble

Councillor Cherie Hill

Councillor Angela Lawrence

Councillor Cordelia McCartney

Councillor Keith Panter

Councillor Roger Patterson

Councillor Diana Rodgers

Councillor Lesley Rollings

Councillor Angela White

4. Committee Chairmen and Vice-Chairmanships

- 4.1 Whilst the Council has had the need to re-appoint the Committees in accordance with its duty to make appointments to Committees in accordance with the wishes expressed by political groups following the determination under section 15 (the allocation of seats to political groups), all Group Leaders have indicated they have no wish to amend the Chairmen and Vice-Chairmanship appointments previously made.
- 4.2 This report therefore merely seeks the re-affirmation of these positions (subject to 3.1 above)